Skip to content

Plaster

SAM_1487

Coffee was on the brain as I left my apartment on that blustery afternoon.  With my music in my ears and an idea what  life was asking for,  I felt as though I could conquer the world.  With a stride of confidence I walked in the direction of my favorite coffee lady.  I crossed the busy street as there was a perfect opening for my passing.  On the opposite side of the street there were two men waiting for me.  They had been watching my crossing and smiled when I made eye contact.  I knew what was on their mind.  They approached me with the same confidence I had crossing the street.  Their hands were out and on them they had plaster, which I knew would be on my face in

SAM_1500

 a matter of minutes.  As my instinct was proven correct, the man looked right into my eyes behind his aviator glasses and said in perfect English “Happy Songkran!  Welcome to my land!”  as he spread the plaster gently onto my cheeks.  Every evening I go for a run this kind man sits at a table near the street with his family and waves at me as I pass.  He has been waiting 6 months to share these words with me and finally he said them flawlessly.  You could tell he was pleased with himself as his lips spread into a huge smile. I returned a smile back to him and felt the excitement I felt on that first day in Thailand return to my stomach in the form of butterflies. . I continued to walk towards my destination but when I turned my head they were still watching me and I gave them another smile.  The man took to his old routine and waved.

There’s still is so much to learn and experience and enjoy and create and adore.  I’m ready.

First some coffee.

Leave a Reply

Follow my photography skills

Ira Glass. I’m in love. It’s snowing Chicago 1 year ago...
Follow Simmons' View on WordPress.com
