Skip to content

a Portland Night

I sat in the Taco Company. At least I think that’s what it’s called. It may be Taco Factory. We weren’t eating tacos at all. I was sipping on a Mojito as the others sipped on drinks named names that were trying to hard. I was speaking with a friend that looked the same, but felt different. It had been a while. I found myself admiring the friends around me. Wondering how I got there surrounded by beautiful people, having passionate conversations about technology, and dating, and traveling, and jobs and the rest of our lives and how we would change the world within those lives.

 

“I want this internship where I interview people and then write about their lives.”

Her face lit up. It sounded like perfection.

This girl, sipping on a drink between the words flowing from her lips, was beautiful. Her hair long and luxurious and a deep auburn. Her lips painted red that night with an eyeliner that created a slight cat eye. Her face was naturally cute and filled with youth. The makeup reminded me, just for a second, of a young girl who got into her mother’s bathroom drawer.

“I don’t really understand why I want this job,” The girl with her mother’s makeup continues, “I’m naturally, a very introverted person. It’s hard for me to talk to strangers.”

As though on cue, she blushed.

“I know exactly what you mean!” I say

I was so excited that she felt familiar. Sometimes that isn’t the case after a long absence.

“I think it’s just human nature to challenge ourselves.” I continue. I have blushed now. I know that burning feeling in my cheeks all to well.

“Yeah like we want to grow, and so this is how we choose to do it.   Forcing ourselves into uncomfortable situations.”

“Exactly!”

I’m ecstatic at this point. It’s an epiphany for me.

We continued speaking about the idiosyncrasies of life.

And the night eventually came to an end.  But a night of good conversation is hard to beat and that smile never left my lips.

Leave a Reply

Follow my photography skills

Hypnotic Gazing Work flower crowns 2 kittens!
Follow Simmons' View on WordPress.com
